Meet the Team

Our team is composed of the director, administration, co-investigators, collaborators and partners.

Administration

Steven Bednarski

Project Director and Primary Investigator

Professor,
History
University of Waterloo
stevenb@uwaterloo.ca

Caley McCarthy

Project Manager

PhD Candidate at McGill University
cmccarth@uwaterloo.ca

Andrew Moore

Research Facilitator

PhD Candidate at University of Waterloo
a5moore@uwaterloo.ca

Co-investigators

David Brown

Co-Investigator

Associate Professor,
Geography and Tourism Studies
Brock University
dbrown@brocku.ca

Laura Cameron

Co-Investigator

Professor,
Canada Research Chair (2003-2012)
Geography and Planning
Queen’s University
cameron@queensu.ca

Nicholas Graham

Co-Investigator

Professor,
School of Computing
Queen’s University
graham@cs.queensu.ca

Robin Harrap

Co-Investigator

Geological Sciences
Queen’s University
harrap@queensu.ca
 

Zack MacDonald

Co-Investigator

Digital Librarian,
St. Jerome’s University
zack.macdonald@uwaterloo.ca

Timothy Newfield

Co-Investigator

Assistant Professor,
Depts. of History and Biology
Georgetown University
timothy.newfield@georgetown.edu

Philip Slavin

Co-Investigator

Associate Professor.
History
University of Stirling
philip.slavin@stir.ac.uk

Raymond Siemens

Co-Investigator

Distinguished Professor,
Canada Research Chair (2004-15)
Humanities
University of Victoria
siemens@uvic.ca

Neil Randall

Co-Investigator

Associate Professor,
English Language and Literature
University of Waterloo
neil.randall@uwaterloo.ca

Ann Marie Rasmussen

Co-Investigator

Professor,
Honourable Diefenbaker Chair
Germanic and Slavic Studies
University of Waterloo
amrasmus@uwaterloo.ca

Derek Robinson

Co-Investigator

Associate Professor,
Geography & Environmental Management
University of Waterloo
dtrobinson@uwaterloo.ca

Jane Tingley

Co-Investigator

Associate Professor,
Fine Arts & Stratford School of Interaction Design and Business
University of Waterloo
 jtingley@uwaterloo.ca

Andrew Trant

Co-Investigator

Assistant Professor,
School of Environment, Resources and Sustainability
University of Waterloo
atrant@uwaterloo.ca

Collaborators

Amelia Fairman

Collaborator

Assistant Project Manager,
Pre-Construct Archaeology
afairman@pre-construct.com

Christopher Whittick

Collaborator

Senior Archivist,
East Sussex County Council


Emy Kim

Collaborator

Assistant Professor,
Dept. of Art History & Art Conservation
Queen’s University
emy.kim@queensu.ca

George Bevan

Collaborator

Associate Professor,
Depts. of Geography and Planning
Queen’s University
bevan@queensu.ca

Richard Hoffmann

Collaborator

Professor Emeritus,
Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada
Liberal Arts and Professional Studies
York University
medfish@yorku.ca

Matthew Reeve

Collaborator

Associate Professor,
Queen’s National Chair
Dept. of Art History & Art Conservation
reevem@queensu.ca

Geneviève Dumas

Collaborator

Professeure,
Dépt. de l’Histoire
Université de Sherbrooke
Genevieve.Dumas@uSherbrooke.ca

Joan Coutu

Collaborator

Professor,
Fine Arts
University of Waterloo
joan.coutu@uwaterloo.ca  

John Johnston

Collaborator

Assistant Professor,
Earth and Environmental Sciences
University of Waterloo
jwjohnston@uwaterloo.ca

Martin Ross

Collaborator

Associate Professor,
Earth and Environmental Sciences
University of Waterloo
maross@uwaterloo.ca

Ian Milligan

Collaborator

Associate Professor,
History
University of Waterloo
i2milligan@uwaterloo.ca

David Rudolph

Collaborator

Professor,
Earth and Environmental Sciences
University of Waterloo
drudolph@uwaterloo.ca

Sherry Schiff

Collaborator

Professor,
Earth and Environmental Sciences
University of Waterloo
sschiff@uwaterloo.ca

Maria Strack

Collaborator

Professor,
Canada Research Chair
Geography and Environmental Management
University of Waterloo
mstrack@uwaterloo.ca

Johanna Wandel

Collaborator

Associate Professor,
Associate Chair
Geography and Environmental Management
University of Waterloo
jwandel@uwaterloo.ca

Alison Bullock

Collaborator

Educator
Information Technology Services
Waterloo Region District School Board

http://aliringbull.blogspot.com/

Partners

Battle Abbey School

Partner

Battle Abbey School is an independent school in East Sussex. It is in a historically significant place, a school that has an incomparable character.

Martina Johnson

Partner Liason

Head of MFL at Battle Abbey School

Beacon Labs CIC

Partner

To maximize the potential of human interaction within immersive technologies (AR, VR & MR – XR).

David Coulter

Partner Liason

Brock University

Partner

Brock University is located in the heart of the Niagara Peninsula, an amazing place to study, live and play.

To be decided

Partner Liason

East Sussex County Council

Partner

The county council of East Sussex includes services and information for residents, businesses and visitors to the county.

To be decided

Partner Liason

Electronic Textual Cultures Lab

Partner

The Electronic Textual Cultures Lab (ETCL) engages in the cross-disciplinary study of the past, present, and future of textual communication, and is a hub for digital humanities.

To be decided

Partner Liason

English Heritage Trust

Partner

We protect an internationally-important collection of historic sites and artefacts which span six millennia, from the ancient past to the present day. This includes palaces, houses, Roman forts and even deserted medieval villages.

Natasha Williams

Partner Liason

Head of Historic Properties, Sussex

The Kitchener-Waterloo Bilingual School

Partner

The key to our students’ success is creating a positive experience at school, which increases motivation to learn and overall well-being.

Mona Balea

Partner Liason

Principal/Directrice

B.Ed, M.Ed. (School Leadership)

Ubisoft

Partner

Ubisoft is a creator of worlds, committed to enriching players’ lives with original and memorable gaming experiences.

Laura Lempiainen

Partner Liason

Talent Specialist, Campus Recruitment

Voice Integrative Learning

Partner

VIS is a non-denominational, co-ed academic school for grades 1 through 8, using the educational philosophy of Integrative Education™

Jamie Milroy

Partner Liason

Principal

Spec. Hon. B.A., B.Ed, OFIS

Harvard Library

Partner

Discover 400 years of intellectual pursuits, discoveries, culture, social life, and work of the Harvard community, on campus and beyond. A national treasure, Harvard’s principal repository of the university and personal archives welcomes students, faculty, and staff and researchers from across the globe.

Suzanne Wones

Partner Liason

Associate University Librarian for Digital Strategies and Innovation, Harvard Library.

Nelson Education Ltd.

Partner

Nelson is Canada’s leading educational publisher providing innovative products and solutions for learners of all ages. Nelson values and respects the lifelong learning continuum and dedicates its business efforts to the diverse learning needs of students and educators alike.

Nicole Fallon

Partner Liason

Program Specialist – Socials

Queen’s University

Partner

For more than 175 years, our community has been more than a collection of bright minds – Queen’s has attracted people with an ambitious spirit. We imagine what the future can be, and work together to realize it.

Diane Davies

Partner Liason

Research Projects Advisor 

Waterloo Region District School Board

Partner

Waterloo Region District School Board serves more than 64,000 students in more than 121 schools as well as alternative and continuing education sites.

Graham Shantz

Partner Liason

Superintendent